All research funded by us is subject to rigorous independent review before recommendations for funding are made to our Board of Trustees. 

Our various committees include autistic people and family members who advise us on matters of policy, fundraising and communication.

Our scientific advisors give their time freely to conduct and support our peer review process. 

Scientific Review Panel

Each funding proposal we receive is evaluated and scored by independent reviewers and our Scientific Review Panel.


Professor Terry Brugha MD (NUI), FRCPsych

Vice Chair

Professor Christopher Oliver MPhil, PhD, CPsychol.


Professor Dermot Bowler, PhD

Professor Mark Brosnan, PhD., CPsychol 

Leneh Buckle

Professor Dr Christine Freitag Med. Dipl. Theol.

Professor Lucy Henry, DPhil, DClinPsych

Dr Catherine Jones, PhD

Professor Jonathan Mill PhD

Professor Courtenay Norbury PhD

Dr Richard Rowe BSc, MSc, PhD

Science Advisory Group

Our Science Advisory Group shape the strategic direction of our funding priorities and provide expert guidance on research opportunities.


Professor Eric Taylor FRCP, FRCPsych, FMedSci


Professor Gillian Baird FRCPCH OBE

Professor Patrick Bolton FRCPsych

Edward Chandler

Professor Patricia Howlin FBPS, MD(Res), MPhil, PhD, DClinPsy

Professor Andreas Meyer-Lindberg

Joshua Muggleton

Carol Povey

Jude Ragan OBE

Professor Paul Stallard